Although Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian are three closely related and mutually intelligible South Slavic languages, each language belongs to a unique culture that has its own rich history. The Department of Slavic, East European and Eurasian Languages and Cultures is among a minority of universities that offers Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian (BCS) courses at all levels of language proficiency and challenges students to study the languages at the highest level. Students learn about the subtleties of each language while also absorbing knowledge about each culture and its history.

Students who are already familiar with one Slavic language are encouraged to study other Slavic languages such as Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian because they have common vocabulary and some share the Cyrillic alphabet.